track inclines from level to standard bridge height

Tell us about your layout, where you put it, how you built it, how you operate it.
scalemaster
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 3:59 pm

track inclines from level to standard bridge height

Postby scalemaster » Thu Dec 27, 2018 6:12 pm

I am building a new layout that requires an incline to handle 5/7 car trains from ground level to standard bridge height.

I am very unsure as to the angle required to easily effect this situation any info regarding problem would be great`tly receiceved

Bob Cummings (scalemaster)

User avatar
grovenor-2685
Posts: 3046
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:02 pm

Re: track inclines from level to standard bridge height

Postby grovenor-2685 » Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:31 pm

Make the gradient as flat as possible within the constraints you have, haulage capacity depends very much on the locos and stock you want to use.
I have grades in the region of 1 in 25 and need heavy locos but it does work.


Rgds

User avatar
Paul Townsend
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: track inclines from level to standard bridge height

Postby Paul Townsend » Fri Dec 28, 2018 7:09 am

scalemaster wrote:I am building a new layout that requires an incline to handle 5/7 car trains from ground level to standard bridge height.

I am very unsure as to the angle required to easily effect this situation any info regarding problem would be great`tly receiceved

Bob Cummings (scalemaster)

If your gradient is on a curve, it needs to be a gentler rise for a given train. I have 1:40 on a 4ft radius and all most locos manage ok with 5+ carriages or 20+ 4wheel wagons.

I strongly recommend a test before you are committed

User avatar
Will L
Posts: 1588
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 3:54 pm

Re: track inclines from level to standard bridge height

Postby Will L » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:52 am

You may find the following of interet, as it gives you an idea of what sort of things can be achieved

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1500#p30680

But you will note this is all to do with getting good performance out of your loco, a point Keith also made in passing when he noted that his locos are heavy. If you want significant inclines it implies you have to ensure your locos are up to it.


Return to “Layouts and Operations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests