Modular layouts?

Tell us about your layout, where you put it, how you built it, how you operate it.
grovenor-2685
Forum Team

Modular layouts?

Postby grovenor-2685 » Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:00 pm

Following on from the thoughts spurred by the Balcombe topic perhaps we could have some discussion on the value or otherwise of a modular standard for P4.
Even if scenic consistency would be difficult or impossible would it be a practical means for those who only have minimal space to get together to run a decent sized layout on occasion.
Would enough people take part to make it worthwhile?

Would the results be limited to exhibitions or is there scope in the UK for Fremo style meets, by the members for the members?
I could probably adapt sections of my layout into modules.

Regards
Keith
Regards
Keith
Grovenor Sidings

ClikC

Re: Modular layouts?

Postby ClikC » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:59 am

I'd be interested if a standard was developed for P4.

I'm no expert, but I'd imagine the biggest issue would be ensuring that separately produced individual boards would work together, due to the finer tolerances of the P4 standards. I'd imagine a simple answer would be some kind of CAD-CAM produced baseboard ends used in conjunction with a pair of standard size (1 inch / 25-mm) pattern makers dowels.

Judging by http://free-mo.org/standard there is a lot to think about.

Regards

Matt

James Moorhouse

Postby James Moorhouse » Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:35 am

The concept of modular P4 layouts was considered 40 years ago.

See Precision, issue 1, pages 6-7. Accessible via s4-news.php

grovenor-2685
Forum Team

Postby grovenor-2685 » Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:08 am

The concept of modular P4 layouts was considered 40 years ago

Indeed but there was no follow up whatsoever, AFAICR not even a letter. I often thought that item (5) would have been an interesting project.
Things are easier now with DCC, perhaps its time to revisit the ideas.

Regards
Keith
Regards
Keith
Grovenor Sidings

LesGros