Track Planning & Layout Ideas - New Builds Started

Tell us about your layout, where you put it, how you built it, how you operate it.
Knuckles

Track Planning & Layout Ideas - New Builds Started

Postby Knuckles » Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:21 pm

Thought I'd open another thread, this time for layout plans that I am planning, tweaking and hoping to possibly build some time. I have billions I've planned in 00 on Anyrail but I've only reciently seen they have updated it it with Exactoscale P4 track - so I've redone a plan to P4. I'm still learning Templot slowly but for the time being I can now legitimately use Anyrail with P4 geometry. A step forward definetly.

Ok, First up is Knapford Junction before the rebuild and subsequent move to North of the river. All Sudrian fiction but I hope in a realistic way. (Can provide indepth details if requested- none of it is real mind!)

I accept it looks a triffle cluttered but that is largly due to me only having a shade over 17 foot x 11 to play with. A fair amount of space but not really enough for what I have in mind.

My idea is to build the baseboards so that the top main scenic sections are removable and break down to be stored IN the basebaord, like a racking system. This should enable me to build more than one layout (thinking long term) and fit in the same area with the curves being the first link on the next boards (so no transition curves sadly-could be an issue ), also for my film making that I like doing it would provide severel locations. I'm not saying this is nessasaraly going to be my 1st layout becasue as a first P4 layout it's probably too much but I'd like your thoughts on it. I do intend doing it at some point.

3 turnouts (in yellow) are 3 points of contention, points, get it!? Eeugh, soooo old. - Will possibly have to build these myself as there are no curved turnouts in the range.
:shock:

Pic has explanatory text within.

Last edited by Knuckles on Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:59 pm, edited 4 times in total.