Advice on Chassis jigs

Includes workshop practice, painting and weathering, model photography etc.
Terry

Advice on Chassis jigs

Postby Terry » Tue May 04, 2010 2:18 pm

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the P4 locomotive modelling and this forum, although have built many scale models before. I have a few locomotiove kits now and have started a 9F which I am enjoying. I am about to tackle the chassis and need advice on where I might find any ready made jigs for general chassis building. Even advice on an easy way to make my own?

Thanks

Terry

grovenor-2685
Forum Team

Re: Advice on Chassis jigs

Postby grovenor-2685 » Tue May 04, 2010 3:19 pm

Regards
Keith
Grovenor Sidings

Rod Cameron

Postby Rod Cameron » Tue May 04, 2010 4:22 pm

Also the Avonside jig, see http://www.avonsideworks.com/
Rod

Terry

Postby Terry » Tue May 04, 2010 5:24 pm

Keith, Rod,

Two very different but extremely helpful approaches to consider! I will get studying and thinking. I guess I could have picked an easier first model, but I like a challenge :o

I'll post some pictures of the construction so far, just cab and boiler area at present, but am pleased with that.

Thanks!

Terry

Dave Holt

Postby Dave Holt » Tue May 04, 2010 7:40 pm

Hello, Terry, welcome on board.

On the question of chassis jigs, I managed for some years with a simple wooden jig consisting of some conti-board with two strips of planed strip fastened to the surface at right angles to each other. However, I have since bought the Avonside jig and found it most useful and easy to use on my latest chassis assembly. I haven't tried any others, but I'm sure there are suitable devices out there - the key requirements being to maintain the frame assembly square and have the same wheel-base for the axles and coupling rods!