In search of...

Includes workshop practice, painting and weathering, model photography etc.
Mike Garwood

In search of...

Postby Mike Garwood » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:36 pm

Hi
I'm trying to find a 1 mm milling cutter with a Clarkson thread on it (not Top Gear). Can anyone suggest where I might find such a beasty. Complete novice asking for help, please.

TIA

Mike

Terry Bendall
Forum Team

Re: In search of...

Postby Terry Bendall » Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:47 am

Mike

Try Chronos Engineering Suppliers, Unit 14, Dukeminster Estate, Church Street, Dunstable, LU5 4HU
01582 471900 www.chronos.ltd.uk

Terry Bendall

Mike Garwood

Postby Mike Garwood » Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:14 pm

Thank you Terry, very helpful

MIke

steves17

Postby steves17 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:10 pm

I've had a look around a few threads but this is about as close I could find for a related theme. In a nut shell i'm braking into making my first coaches with some Isle of Wight resin kits by Smallbrook Studio. They are for a semi freelance layout but the idea is to more or less adapt them to how they were in earlier LB&SC days. I'm aware of the superior brass ones that Roxey Mouldings offer but personally I found these a little too time consuming, as I think i'm going to be making a fair few in the fullness of time ( working on 12 for now ).
One of the obvious differences with the later refurbished coaches are that they gained an extra bead? on the face ends and so i've been shaving them off.

My problem now is how to restore them. Unless i'm missing something with the imperial measurements in my online searches Evergreen & Slaters don't go down small enough ( I need them to be somewhere between 0.8 and 1mm wide and thick ). After a few failed notions I tried cutting some Tree Scenics packaging with a blade and a steel rule which is doing the trick.