Any experience with the Hornby Ruston 48DS?

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
Martin Kelly

Any experience with the Hornby Ruston 48DS?

Postby Martin Kelly » Tue Sep 07, 2021 12:04 pm

As a P4 newbie, I've been looking around for a first, simple, inexpensive option to get a locomotive up and running. My research has led me to looking at the diminutive Hornby Ruston 48DS as a candidate. The bodywork looks nicely detailed and would lend itself to weathering up for an industrial railway micro-layout/test plank. Having got this far, I thought I'd reach out to see if anybody has experience of converting this RTR loco. I'm interested in any experiences/advice you have but I do have some specific questions too:

1). Does anybody know what material each sub-assemble is made from? I'm particularly interested in the chassis, footplate, headstocks and buffers/buffer shanks.

2). What wheels would you recommend for a potential conversion?

3). Beginners question: what steps would be involved in swapping out the OO wheels and replacing them with P4 ones? I'm looking to keep it simple and keep a rigid chassis without compensation/springing for my first attempt.

I am aware that there is a Judith Edge kit of this prototype but I don't want to go down the kit building route for this first foray. I just want to get something up and running with as little hassle as possible so that I can push around the wagon kits I'm building.

Thank you in advance for sharing your wisdom.

Simon_S

Re: Any experience with the Hornby Ruston 48DS?

Postby Simon_S » Wed Sep 08, 2021 2:03 pm

Hi Martin,
There's some discussion of this on RMWeb starting here.

I haven't done this myself but it looks as easy as they come and should be an ideal introductory project for you;
  1. dismantle the chassis to extract the axles
  2. recover the gears and bearings from the OO axles