Hornby A4 OO to P4 conversion

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
60022Camden

Hornby A4 OO to P4 conversion

Postby 60022Camden » Fri Dec 25, 2020 5:53 am

Hi all,
I'd like to start out by wishing everyone a wonderfully happy Christmas! I'm brand new to this world of P4 and could use some help deciding how to go about conversions. I've been a OO guy for some time. I've not got a bunch of stuff so when I go to make a layout, I'd like to get it to the real thing as possible. I've got a Hornby "super" detail A4 (in my opinion a retool is overdue) and I've detailed it to the best standard I can without going straight through to EM or P4 gauge conversion. I've decided to go P4 because I'm a mad man on accuracy/true scale proportions. I've removed the valve gear on my Hornby A4 and replaced it with Bachmann A1 gear. It looks far more realistic and I'm quite pleased with the job. The only thing left to get this to look "right" is the P4 conversion. Since this is my very first conversion, are there any kits for conversion anyone would recommend? I'm very seriously looking into the brassmasters easichas conversion and detail kits for my model with the AG ultrascale wheels (and yes, I'm aware of how long it takes for the product turnaround). I'm also wondering if anyone has been clever enough to come up with a solution to the wrap-around cylinder valancing and actual cylinders themselves? The Hornby arrangement is quite an eyesore. I'm planning on modeling ECML in the summer of 1961 with both diesels and steam to give me a variety of locos to choose from. So far, the location hasn't been decided but I do have a list of locos in mind and a good number of named passenger services too. My idea is to have either a double or triple tracked mainline with a few signals, a signalbox, and possibly a branch line thrown in as well. So far I have four A4 locos on my list, an A3, a Peppercorn A1, and a cla