Wagon springing and compensation - Newbie questions

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
junctionmad

Wagon springing and compensation - Newbie questions

Postby junctionmad » Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:44 pm

Sorry about this but Im new to p4 and am doing my first scratch built wagons that will either be sprung or compensated

questions

1. With compensated W irons, these rock, so how are the springs and axleboxs attached, I presume a gap is left and the springs and boxes are attached to the W iron ??, or are people slotting the axle box and fixing it and the spring to the sole bars

2. in sprung wagons that have roller bearings, I can't see room to slot the axle boxes , what are people doing ?

apologies if there are threads on this , I searched and havent found this

thanks for your patience

Mark Forrest

Re: Wagon springing and compensation - Newbie questions

Postby Mark Forrest » Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:49 pm

Which roller bearings are you using on your sprung wagons? Are you using normal or waisted pinpoint bearings in the spring carriers?

James Wells

Postby James Wells » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:07 pm

Mark Forrest wrote:Which roller bearings are you using on your sprung wagons? Are you using normal or waisted pinpoint bearings in the spring carriers?

I think he means the prototype has roller bearings - castings for these have much less metal in them. I'm building a couple of BR brake vans which use MJT roller bearings, I have slotted them, with care it's quite straight forward, the margin for error is just a little smaller.

junctionmad

Postby junctionmad » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:11 pm

James Wells wrote:
Mark Forrest wrote:Which roller bearings are you using on your sprung wagons? Are you using normal or waisted pinpoint bearings in the spring carriers?