Track Jigs

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
NDHAERO

Track Jigs

Postby NDHAERO » Wed May 06, 2015 7:35 pm

Hi all,

I am very new to the World of P4, so this may be a naive question.

I am an engineer by training, so am trying to think of solutions to problems. This is all theoretically thinking so far, I have yet to even get any track, let alone try laying it.

But, my thought today, was why leave it to chance? I live in Beeston, and the Nottingham Tram Extension has been built. They performed all their lengths of track off site, and then laid them directly in position. So I thought why don't they perform them in the model world? Surely it would not be difficult to make a jig, that holds the rails exactly parallel, that could then be curved as one whole? This would create exact parallel rails, and the differentials of the outer rail, compared to the inner, would not be an issue. I am not suggesting mass made commercial rails, but if the jig was flexible enough, it would be used to make any rail formations you chose.

The major issue, would be the elastic deformation of the rail. I.e. what spring back they would have once removed from a jig. This could be solved by either mathematical or empirical methods. Depending on the accuracy of the jig, highly accurate rails could be made, and then just layed.

I am certain in the 200 years of railway modelling all sorts of jigs have been made, and failed. Or am I missing something very fundamental?

In an ideal World, I want whatever I am making, impossible to get wrong. In the aeronautical World, I am used to highly accurate 3 dimensional shapes formed in metal, Rail formations are only 2d so surely there must be a better way than a Back-to-back gauge?

Anyway, I'll be very interested in your thoughts. I am going to have a go at designing one, so any know pit falls etc would be very helpful.

Many thanks,

Nick

grovenor-2685
Forum Team