Airfix Fowler 4F 0-6-0 (re-wheel)

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
Stuart Barker

Airfix Fowler 4F 0-6-0 (re-wheel)

Postby Stuart Barker » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:04 pm

Hi I need some advice please.

This is my first time on the forum.

I have built a few wagons in P4 (with sprung suspension) and would now like to convert a 00 guage ready to run locomotive to P4.
At this stage I do not want to spend a huge amount of money on the purchase of the locomotive just incase I make a mess of the conversion.
I have been looking at the Airfix Fowler 4F 0-6-0 on e-bay. I understand that this is tender driven.
Is this an easy locomotive to re-wheel to P4, and if so could I have some advise on the wheel sets that would be required.

I am modelling the LMS period from about 1930's to 1940's

Any advice or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Stuart Barker

steamraiser

Re: Airfix Fowler 4F 0-6-0 (re-wheel)

Postby steamraiser » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:04 pm

I have one. The rewheeling route was not a brilliant success, so it now has a Comet loco and tender chassis fitted.

Gordon A
Bristol

Ian Everett

Postby Ian Everett » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:43 pm

I have one with a Perseverance (remember them!) chassis, Gibson wheels and a Portescap motor/gearbox. I found that it was difficult to get it to pull itself, never mind a train, because the motor was where the loco needed weight, so to balance it I conjured up a version of Mike Sharman's scheme whereby the front of the tender rests on the rear of the loco. Crude but effective.