P4 Plank

Help and advice for those starting in, or converting to P4 standards. A place to share modelling as a beginner in P4.
Bigfish

P4 Plank

Postby Bigfish » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:07 am

Thanks very much for your collective wisdom on “Control systems, interlocking and DCC”.

I am thinking about next steps ie actually making something. All the advice seems to be, make a modest “P4 plank” to try things out, make mistakes where it doesn’t matter, and so on. While I am quite handy at making things in general I have no experience of railway modelling, so the “Plank” would provide an opportunity to try many things out, from making baseboards to track-making, wiring, scenery, buildings etc.

I'd welcome any advice about this based on what you did/didn’t do/wished you had done when you were starting. Size, track layout (ie simple but useful for learning), whatever!

Many thanks

Alan

John McAleely
Web Team

Re: P4 Plank

Postby John McAleely » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:35 am

As part of moving to P4, my taste was to produce something prototypical, but on a plank I think that's quite tough. Equally, I worried it was easy to lay down a couple of points (it's just a plank), and end up with something fairly unsatisfying to run (given that there is not enough to be a prototype).

So my own choice has been to go for operation on my plank, and use it as a pure learning vehicle. Are you familiar with the various shunting puzzles?

http://www.wymann.info/ShuntingPuzzles/

My own plank (under construction) is a 5/3/3 inglenook. For me this is an effective way of getting satisfying operation from just two bits of pointwork. I'm leaving a fair amount of space around for some scenery I will research from a real location (more learning!), whilst not actually trying too hard to be that place.

nigelcliffe

Postby nigelcliffe » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:58 am