RE: Chassis Speed Building

This section allows guests to comment or ask questions. Posts from guests require explicit approval (which generally takes a day or so), before they appear, so that we can prevent unwanted spam.
Proto87Stores

RE: Chassis Speed Building

Postby Proto87Stores » Sat May 11, 2019 8:18 pm

I'm thinking minutes, not hours, for a properly designed chassis KIT. Every thing that is operational pre-shaped and fits what it is supposed to fit to. No parts to fettle, no parts or partial assemblies that need adjusting or measuring and cutting to size. But you must have an accurate wheel press system if the wheels, axles and gears are supplied as separated items. Didn't the Kitmaster kits go together that fast?

I already make P4 full crossings that are ready in 5 minutes. And close to that per each bogie for our upcoming TRAM, EMU, etc., mechs. I can say that with confidence, because my helper does the first build s and he 's a farmer by trade.

And BTW, IIRC, my teenage years Triang Railways Models had sliding axles on six-wheel tenders.

Andy

jim s-w

Re: RE: Chassis Speed Building

Postby jim s-w » Sat May 11, 2019 10:18 pm

Sounds like you are taking the fun out of it if I'm honest

Jim
Jim Smith-Wright

http://www.p4newstreet.com

Over thinking often leads to under doing!

Knuckles

Postby Knuckles » Sun May 12, 2019 8:10 am

I'll reply to my own thred when on PC.

Jim, it isn't all about fun to some people, some of us need to get a bucket load done and need speed, plus if we can make life quicker and easier for people then some will appreciate that. I enjoy modelling but not always every possible task and the scope of some collective tasks are great for one a one man band so speed with the accuracy is very much needed.

All depends on your goals.
“He who dares not offend cannot be honest.” Thomas Paine

https://www.sparkshotcustomcreations.com/
Mostly 3D Printed Loco kits etc.

SCC Price list (7/4/22)