Weight for a coach kit.

simonmoore

Weight for a coach kit.

Postby simonmoore » Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:32 pm

Hi guy's just a quickie really, I'm currently building a Ian Kirk Gresley parcels coach & I'm getting close to cementing the roof to the body but i first want to put in some weight. Since I'm relatively new to P4 I'm not sure on how much weight to put in the coach to keep it on the track. can anyone shed any light on how much to use? My favorite method so far is to use some of the coppers in the copper jar because i have a large amount of them for starters & it seems to be the only metal i have laying around the house.

Cheers

Simon.

martin goodall

Re: Weight for a coach kit.

Postby martin goodall » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:40 pm

Opinions have varied in the past as to the amount of weight needed in vehicles, but there seems to be a growing consensus that something between 20g and 25g per axle is right for 4-wheel and 6-wheel vehicles, unless (in the case of a 4-wheel wagon) the vehicle is likely to run with/between rather heavier whitemetal wagons, in which case 30g to 35g per axle seems to be recommended. Thus a 4-wheel wagon would weigh a total of 40g to 50g (or 60g to 70g if running with whitemetal vehicles). A 6-wheel vehicle would weigh in at between 60g and 75g (and probably doesn't need any extra weight to cater for being mixed in with whitemetal stock). I have successfully run some wagons on my layout for more than 30 years which weigh less than 40g in total.