MTK class 59 kit - Let the challenge commence.

Terry

MTK class 59 kit - Let the challenge commence.

Postby Terry » Wed Mar 03, 2021 5:21 pm

I have recently returned to the hobby, and I have a number of kits in my stash from which to attempt my first locomotive build. The partly started 9F from way back, will wait patiently in the wings as I fancy starting off with a diesel-electric freight. So the one I'm considering is the MTK kit no DC10 of a Yeoman class 59. I am not an expert on these locomotive but do really like the look of them. In the very limited instructions, MTK recommend fitting Hornby class 58 bogies which surprised me as I would have thought class 66 bogies would be more appropriate as I understand the 66 was developed in part from the 59. The kit provides the sideframe detail etc, so I'm assuming it's down to wheel spacing? I have found both 58 and 66 bogie frame assemblies on ebay, so could easily source either. Are there any class 59 experts out there that can advise please and does anyone know if either the 58 or 66 bogies are easily adapted for P4?
Terry
aka novice in training!
Last edited by Terry on Sat Mar 06, 2021 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

alan@york

Re: MTK class 59 kit - advice needed please

Postby alan@york » Wed Mar 03, 2021 6:47 pm

Remember that when this kit came out, alternative sources of bogies etc were much more limited than they are now.
Any instructions may be considered more of a suggestion than an absolute diktat.
I'll let others give better ideas as those 59's are too far south for me, and so I haven't got that knowledge.

a@y

grovenor-2685
Forum Team

Postby grovenor-2685 » Wed Mar 03, 2021 6:51 pm

I think that suggestion to use class 58 bogies probably comes from the MTK kit long predating the introduction of the class 66 let alone any models of it. I suspect the class 58 bogies will have a different wheelbase from the 59.