A detailed Bachmann 57xx pannier tank

B661Sutton

A detailed Bachmann 57xx pannier tank

Postby B661Sutton » Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:45 pm

I am rather new to P4 and Scalefour modelling, however I have been modelling in 00 gauge for some time previously. As I model the Western Region, I thought I'd tackle one of the ubiquitous 57xx pannier tanks. Although the Ultrascale conversion would be the simplest option and would provide me with a quick and reasonable model to start with, I don't do simple. I had been inspired by some of the excellent modelwork I have seen from other modellers and wanted to produce something to a similar standard. Therefore, I took the plunge and ordered the High Level chassis kit as well as the wheels and other detailing components from Alan Gibson. I attacked the body first, replacing the handrails and adding any that the model was missing. Also, I replaced the moulded pipes for the top feed, injector waste pipes, vacuum and steam heat pipes with suitable brass wire.

20200923_113928.jpg

20200923_113940.jpg

I went rather to town in detailing this, I admit. I even went as far as to replace the moulded lifting hook loops with wire replacements.

The chassis was simpler to do, at least in principle. It was a straightforward build of a High Level chassis kit, though a learning curve for someone like me who is rather a beginner in the art of kitbuilding. Still, it went together smoothly (a credit to its design that even my ham-fisted self could build it) and I managed to get it to run reasonably smoothly too, though it's not gojng to amaze anyone with low speed performance. After a coat of paint and my usual level of weathering applied (absolutely filthy), the model was finished.

20201118_162423.jpg

20201118_162516.jpg

20201118_162356.jpg