How is this cross head/slide bar made up?

jon price

How is this cross head/slide bar made up?

Postby jon price » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:27 pm

I'm trying (and failing) to understand how this crosshead on a Manning Wardle loco could be modelled. Any suggestions (preferably with simple diagrams)?
no9 b.JPG
photo courtesy of Flintshire Archive
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Connah's Quay Workshop threads: viewforum.php?f=125

Knuckles

Re: How is this cross head/slide bar made up?

Postby Knuckles » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:54 pm

I'm no expert on it and probably about to type rubbish but isn't it locked in the slidebars by a notch?

Maybe if you double up the slidebars width ways you can lock it in? :?
“He who dares not offend cannot be honest.” Thomas Paine

https://www.sparkshotcustomcreations.com/
Mostly 3D Printed Loco kits etc.

SCC Price list (7/4/22)
https://www.sparkshotcustomcreations.co ... e77d42.pdf

John Fitton

Postby John Fitton » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:54 pm

Jon,

Is it possible the slide bars are actually grooved

https://www.facebook.com/Manning.Wardle ... 271851895/

Seems like lower bar is, in this photo.

JF

Alan Turner

Postby Alan Turner » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:32 pm

You can just make out the raised guide way in this enlargement.

no9 lg.jpg

regards

Alan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jon price

Postby jon price » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:58 pm

Thanks for all this input. I think a grooved slidebar that works is going to be well beyond my capability. Maybe slotted would be possible.

garethashenden

Postby garethashenden » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:48 pm

jon price wrote:Thanks for all this input. I think a grooved slidebar that works is going to be well beyond my capability. Maybe slotted would be possible.