Best suspension for Brassmasters GWR 1854 0-6-0

kevini

Best suspension for Brassmasters GWR 1854 0-6-0

Postby kevini » Mon Oct 18, 2021 3:51 pm

Hello,

I have just joined and am new to P4 and loco kitbuilding but I have a lot of experience in soldering/etched brass in car modelling.

As an initial entry into making my own kits I thought I would try making a Brassmasters GWR 1854 0-6-0 (with working inside motion) as it seems fairly straightforward and would be prototypical for the layout I will be starting soon.
Details of kit and instructions are here:
http://www.brassmasters.co.uk/gwr_1854_ ... 6-0pts.htm
http://www.brassmasters.co.uk/Downloads ... ctions.pdf

Not having made a P4 kit before I was wondering if someone could suggest the best method for springing, pickups and motor/gearbox and other accessories I may need for this as it is very difficult it seems in this hobby to get a "starting point" or best practice set of parts/methods.

My intended layout will be an end to end layout inspired by Penzance in the 20/30's with harbour and Cornish Riviera running (I live nearby in Falmouth). It would be good to provide a hidden "tight loop" hidden curve to provide for continuous running of some form so not sure yet if that may be a factor for the chassis to cope with and what min radius (hidden track curves though) I could get away with.

It looks like from my current reading that best practice for this kit may be:

1) Compensated and? sprung suspension......I think the kit comes with flexchassis sprung hornblocks
2) Pickups....I am not sure best method/components to order for this?
3) Couplings - I like the look of Great Chelmesford Junction model railway couplings on all my stock. see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PjBHcP65dLI
4) Motor - Kit is designed for Designed for a Portescap 1219 but an alternative is a Mashima 1220......recommendations?
5) Gearbox - Kit is designed for a High Level Road Runner Plus 54:1 - Seem OK?