Coreless and feedback

steve howe

Coreless and feedback

Postby steve howe » Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:21 pm

As a non-techie, and waiting to be shot down in flames, may I ask what's probably a very simple query? I have been using feedback controllers for many years starting with the ECM Compspeed and now various brands of panel and hand-held jobs including the Gaugemaster. Most of my locos have been standardised on Mashima motors with (in most cases) a High Level gearbox which has been a very satisfactory combo on the slow-speed shunting planks I favour. Recently I have acquired a couple of locos from a late friend which are fitted with RG4s. Now, I am dubious about running them with the feedback controllers in case they are not compatible and it damages the RG4s. Unlike the Pentroller, none of my feedback controllers seem to have the facility for switching off the feedback. Anyone any advice on the matter?

Steve
(in darkest Iron Age Cornwall)

Guy Rixon

Re: Coreless and feedback

Postby Guy Rixon » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:05 pm

Steve, a motor is damaged by a pulsed power-supply if it has precious metal brushes and if it is light enough to spin down and stop in between the pulses; the working lifetime of the brushes is limited by stops and starts rather than continuous running. Small, coreless motors often meet both of these criteria and can motors generally do not. But it also depends on the details of the controller, specifically the length of the gaps between the power pulses.