4-4-0T csb

Andy W

4-4-0T csb

Postby Andy W » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:56 am

Having been converted to csbs by Will and others I am looking to use them on my next loco - a 4-4-0T. I've now built several locos this way so I'm not a novice, and I haven't had a problem with the spreadsheet guides, but I can't find reference to anything like this. Maybe I've missed it? Or is it recommended that I treat as an 0-4-0 with the bogie sprung independently?

In "the old days" I would have built this with two side beams and a central pivot for the bogie. It would be good to explore the use of csbs on this loco. Any pointers gratefully received.

Andy
Make Worcestershire great again.
Build a wall along the Herefordshire border and make them pay for it.

Will L

Re: 4-4-0T csb

Postby Will L » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:14 am

Andy

I covered a generalised way of tackling a any loco with a bogie which carries loco weight in the CSBs a question of Gravity thread. You need to read past section on CofG placement on a 0-n-0 to get to the bit you want. The diagrams show an 2-6-0 but the same approach works for a 4-4-0. If it need further explanation to make it clearer let me know. Like all these things the outcome is a lot less complicated than a detailed explanation can make it look.

Will

Andy W

Postby Andy W » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:42 am

Thanks Will. That was the thread I was searching for. I'll study it.

Andy W

Postby Andy W » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:23 am

That's very clear. Basically to get the % weight distribution between boogie and drivers I move the weight to shift the CoG forward or aft. The fulcrum points can be worked out as an 0-4-0 - or in effect as two 0-4-0s. Have I got that right?

billbedford

Postby billbedford » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:33 am