Ride height - CSB

David B

Ride height - CSB

Postby David B » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:52 pm

I am re-building a 4-4-2 chassis having had some problems with the Gibson hornblocks. I want to use High Level hornblocks and CSB. (This is my first attempt at CSB.)

As there are already the cut-outs for the hornblock, how do I get the new guides in the right vertical position to get the ride height correct? Where do I have the bearing in the hornblock as the weight of the body is going to move the bearing up the guide?

David

Russ Elliott

Re: Ride height - CSB

Postby Russ Elliott » Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:06 pm

Ask yourself this, David - if this was being built without a CSB, where would you put the hornguides?

David B

Postby David B » Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:31 pm

Russ Elliott wrote:Ask yourself this, David - if this was being built without a CSB, where would you put the hornguides?

To answer your question, I'd just fit them in the hole I have, but then with the Gibson hornblocks, the bearing rides at the top, springing just working to take out hollows and there is a screw to adjust ride height. The CSB system I understood to operate with springing both up and down, and there is no screw adjustment.

I don't know enough about CSB (which is why I would appreciate some guidance), but I would have thought that the vertical positioning of the hornblock guide is important. If I were starting from an axle hole and cutting out the slots for the guides I would be able to use the High Level jig, but I am not as the slots are already there.

Am I looking for difficulties that don't exist?

David

Russ Elliott

Postby Russ Elliott » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:01 pm

David - you need to form an opinion on where the axle datum needs to be on the frame you've got.

The presence or absence of a CSB is not relevant to that process.

Chris Mitton

Postby Chris Mitton » Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:01 pm

Hi David