A Simple Holding Cradle

steve howe

A Simple Holding Cradle

Postby steve howe » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:04 pm

I'm sure many experienced modellers on here will have something like this in their armoury. I have been promising myself to make one for the last 20 years! A spate of underframe works recently prompted the need for something a bit more secure than the usual blocks and bits of steel bar wobbling about.
loco1.JPG

The photo is more or less self-explanatory: 2 lengths of 20mm aluminium angle about 380mm long clamped together and drilled 6mm clearance, one piece also had countersunk holes drilled for wood screws. The base is an offcut of ply, not too thick, covered in 3mm foam sheet. I think C & L sell something similar, although thick felt would do. Similar strips of foam were glued to the inside faces of the angle. One piece is screwed to the base through the foam and the second is simply aligned with 6mm bolts and nuts.
loco2.JPG

Half an hour to make (not counting glueing time and tea) and a really handy addition to the general clutter on the bench :D

Steve
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Terry Bendall
Forum Team

Re: A Simple Holding Cradle

Postby Terry Bendall » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:28 am

A neat idea. The loco cradles sold by PECO are a good substitute although I find the "groove" needs opening out otherwise there is a tendency to damage the fine details on anything held in it. Steve's design avoids that risk although I would probably use slightly thicker foam.

Terry Bendall

John Palmer

Postby John Palmer » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:56 pm

+1 and something I've been meaning to make for myself for ages. Presumably you set the clamping bolts sufficiently far apart to accommodate your longest vehicle.