Hinged Alex Jacksons

Penrhos1920

Hinged Alex Jacksons

Postby Penrhos1920 » Tue May 05, 2009 9:10 pm

I've just bought some Palatine AJ hinge plates (along with the bending jig and setting gauge). I'm a total newbie to AJ's and I don't find the Palatine instructions very helpful. I'm intending on using them on dogfish and similar hopper wagons mounted under the platforms. What sort of counterbalance weight will I need, 2g, 5g 10g? Am I right in thinking of using crimp on fishing weights? Can I glue the plate in place, or is there a good reason to use screws?

Thanks

Andy G

Re: Hinged Alex Jacksons

Postby Andy G » Wed May 06, 2009 11:40 am

Hi Penrhos,
If you can let Ralph know what parts of the instructions you don't find easy to understand that would be great and he can then look at addressing any issues. I'm not familiar with your prototype wagons but I'll try and answer from the coupling point of view. The counter balance is purely to bring the coupling back up to height, i.e. it counterbalances the weight of the dropper on the otherside of the hinge. In the past I've used a small nail, one part for the dropper and the remainder for the counterbalance. You don't want too much weight or the magnets will struggle to pull the dropper down.
The screws serve two purposes, firstly (and obviously) fixing the plate to the wagon. However, the second, and the reason why I would advise against glue is that the by using a screw and the elongated hole in the plate the position of the coupling head can be adjusted without having to resort to bending the wire (which is a real PITA as it tends to have a mind of its own). The Palatine pivots currently available include a fold up base plate intended to bring the pivot into line with the bottom of the headstock (well just under it), you don't want to be pivotting from the wagon floor as that would mean that either the angles on the coupling head are out or you have an unwanted bend to get the coupling shank horizontal again.