csb power

Andy W

csb power

Postby Andy W » Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:43 am

I've been building a Brassmaster 0F which has been fun.

Being an MR modeller I'm not used to outside valve gear, so I had to do a lot of gapping with the sub sections - like the cylinder unit etc.

It's built with 3 point suspension as getting the csb pivot points in the right places proved difficult. It runs well - but it got me wondering if there might be a simpler way to pick up the power through csbs and avoid so much gapping. So I started playing with the tender chassis of a Gibson M class. I fitted some KM plastic hornblocks.

I drilled the pivot points using a HL jig and used cut down knobs on pieces of paxolin to keep the frames neutral.

I made up the chassis using ungapped spacers; shorted the wheels; and connected a pivot point on each side to a mini plug.

A bulb was connected to the plug and, even with an uninsulated footplate it lights up.

I'm not sure what this proves - other than that I should get a life!
However it does allow standard spacers to be used and wire can be soldered across the frames for brake hangers etc.
The question I now have is should I bother with any type of pick ups on the M loco itself?
Also if this were a tank loco could plastic hornblocks be trusted to wear? I have some Exactoscale ones so I might try them.
Make Worcestershire great again.
Build a wall along the Herefordshire border and make them pay for it.

grovenor-2685
Forum Team

Re: csb power

Postby grovenor-2685 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:24 am

From an engineering viewpoint I would not really be happy using the springs to conduct the current, getting hot is bad for them. I would prefer to incude a flexible wire soldered to the axleboxes, which is what I have seen done in the past (at SLAG) with KM plastic hornblocks and split axles.
Mind you this is just theory and observation, my own experience is limited to wiper pickups so far.
Keith.
Regards
Keith
Grovenor Sidings

Andy W