close up photos of GWR tubular signals

junctionmad

close up photos of GWR tubular signals

Postby junctionmad » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:57 pm

Im just beginning to 3D print the bits for the classic GWR tubular semaphore signal , in 7mm , these will slide onto suitable brass tubes.

I have some good drawings , but could do with a few photos of the back of the signal , in particular the lamp bracket and spindle bracket . I have Vaughans book , but the best one there ( plate 41a on page 49) is from one perspective

Thanks

Dave

Tim V

Re: close up photos of GWR tubular signals

Postby Tim V » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:48 pm

Like this?
Ashton Junction 18-7-1978 New Hanimex Lens 136-11.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tim V
(Not all railways in Somerset went to Dorset)

junctionmad

Postby junctionmad » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:54 am

excellent thanks , has anyone a square on pic of the back ?
I have a good pic from the lamp side
Dave

David B

Postby David B » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:16 pm

Any of these of use? Taken at Llangollen.

G1021rw.jpg

G1028rw.jpg

G1029rw.jpg

G1030rw.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

junctionmad

Postby junctionmad » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:49 pm

brilliant thanks

Simon_S

Postby Simon_S » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:14 pm

Just curious, what's the rectangular box with wires going in to it?

John Palmer

Postby John Palmer » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:59 pm

Simon_S wrote:Just curious, what's the rectangular box with wires going in to it?

Looks like the standard GWR contact enclosure, most probably for a repeater of the signal's aspect in the signal box.

Noel

Postby Noel » Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:16 pm

John Palmer wrote:Looks like the standard GWR contact enclosure, most probably for a repeater of the signal's aspect in the signal box.