Eridge signals

Rod Cameron

Eridge signals

Postby Rod Cameron » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:56 am

These have been dormant for a while, as editorJohn is no doubt aware, but I've recently begun to work on them again. Morgan Gilbert's Midland signal almost made me stop posting this, looking at the relative clumsiness of mine, but we're all progressing aren't we and I'm a novice at making signals! Should've started with a straightforward single post, but Eridge hasn't got any (at least it didn't on the Mk1 layout, more anon elsewhere).

This is the ex-LBSC up starter bracket, now at the stage where it works :shock: and just beginning to get detailed up. The landing rails and ladders have just been added. I'm not the neatest of solderers so there's a bit of tidying up to do.

upstarter progress 009.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Rod

Re: Eridge signals

Postby 45609 » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:44 pm

Hi Rod,

I think your signals look great having seen all of them posted on RMweb http://www.rmweb.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14951. As you probably know getting them to work reliably is half the battle. Although you haven't posted the pic here I really like the idea you had for making the operating rods using the Bill Bedford handrail bending jig. Wish I had thought of that. Lost count of the feet of wire I wasted on the operating rods and handrails until I was satisfied. Making semaphore signals with a scale apperance is one of the most difficult jobs I have encountered. Hope to see them finished off and painted soon.

Cheers....Morgan

Rod Cameron

Postby Rod Cameron » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:52 pm

Thanks Morgan, I need to do that while there are still people alive who remember Signals for Eridge Pt 1 in the Snooze! :?