Motor/Gear box for Goods Engine

Winander

Motor/Gear box for Goods Engine

Postby Winander » Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:41 pm

I am building an 0-6-0 goods engine, early pre-grouping so a relatively small beast and not particularly fast. I have no real need for it to exceed a prototypical 30-35 mph and am even not sure if they could reach that speed.

High Level products seem to be favoured, so I will go with that trend. I used their speed calculator spreadsheet to examine the options. It is a very useful tool and saved a lot of research (more reason to go with a helpful supplier).

My options are a 12 series Mashima and LoadHauler Compact+ gearbox. I have zero experience in this area, so do I go with the higher revving Mashima 1220 (17,000 rpm) and a 1:108 gear that will give me 29mph or the lower revving 1224 (12,000rpm) and 1:54 gear that gives a wopping 41mph?

My only concern is control at slow speed and noise. As 17,000 rpm is nearly 50% faster than 12,000 I don't want to listen to a screaming motor. I will be using DCC and a quality decoder. The controller is yet to be chosen, but will be suitable for slow speed control.

I'm open to other suggestions regarding the motor. I believe a 12 series will fit, but if the smaller 10 series are considered suitable, that would leave more margin for error. I've used the templates etc., but, as I said, I have zero experience.

thanks in anticipation
Richard

p.s. I've tried searching but it would take the rest of the Bank Holiday to review the results.
Richard Hodgson
Organiser Scalefour Virtual Group. Our meeting invitation is here.

Tim V

Re: Motor/Gear box for Goods Engine

Postby Tim V » Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:55 pm

Personally, I have had poor experiences with the 12 series motors. All have been removed over the years. The 10 series have given vastly better reliability.

If it's a tender engine have you considered a 16mm in the tender? Lower RPM, better torque, plus better weight distribution in the loco.